For the sake of nostalgia.

July 15, 2010

On September 20, 2009, I posted the following on my myspace:

I need a change, beyond what I can do for myself.
If we discovered that we had only five minutes left to say all that we wanted to say,
every telephone booth would be occupied by people calling other people to stammer that they loved them.

It’s beyond me if those were my own genuine thoughts, or if it was a hastily typed version of something I’d heard on some TV show or read in a book. But I feel like it means more to me now than it ever would have at a point when I knew that was there. I just stumbled upon those words. I need a change, beyond what I can do for myself. I think I know what I wanted at the time. I wanted somebody to impact my life instead of me constantly trying to change things for the better but becoming worn out from it. Shortly after that, something did change, and it will undoubtedly impact the rest of my youth. I’m still waiting on the greater change, though, the one that will make me stand in a phone booth and stammer to someone that I love them. And the funny thing is, it took me this long to see that.

Leave a Reply

