Interesting.

February 22, 2010

Today, I went to my gym. I was wearing this old cutoff muscle shirt that has a big Autobot mask on the front and “straight edge” in huge letters at the top. While I was using a machine, a girl told me she liked my shirt. Because I’m apparently a pretentious douchebag, I automatically assumed that this girl was referring to the Transformers reference, with no idea what “straight edge” means. Then she showed me her XXX tattoos, and told me she regretted them because it wasn’t something she stuck with, and told me that it was good that I had made that descision for my life. Funny thing is, until that point, I wasn’t having a good day at all. And although I don’t have a clue who this girl was, and I’ll probably never see her again, I would like her to know that she turned my mood around today.

The little things in life are what you’re supposed to get excited about. Sometimes I think I’m the only person that realizes that.

2 Responses to “Interesting.”

  1. Lee Wesman said

    Thank you very much. It’s nice that you get what I mean. :]

  2. I agree with you. When some complete stranger waits an extra moment to hold the door for me I can’t help but smile… when I see a father and son playing catch on the front lawn while I’m driving by I can’t help but have a restored faith in humanity. It’s the little things.

Leave a Reply

